

GOVERNMENT RESOLUTION No. 20/2022 of the 18 May 2022

ESTABLISHMENT OF THE INTER-MINISTERIAL COMMISSION FOR THE COORDINATION OF THE VALUE CHAIN AND STIMULATION OF LOCAL PRODUCTION

Whereas the Strategic Development Plan 2011-2030 stated that a thriving agricultural sector is necessary to reduce poverty, ensure food security and promote economic growth in rural areas and the nation as a whole;

Whereas that Plan also stated that the goals for the agricultural sector are to improve national food security, reduce rural poverty, support the transition from subsistence agriculture to business production of agricultural products, livestock and fisheries, promoting environmental sustainability and conservation of Timor-Leste's natural resources;

Whereas the Government Programme assumed the creation of all possible conditions to leverage economic diversification in productive areas such as agriculture, livestock, fisheries and tourism, in addition to the industrial sector, as a priority of government action;

Considering that the achievement of the goals and objectives set out in the Strategic Development Plan and the Government Programme depend on the progressive improvement and greater coherence of public policies, administrative systems and procedures and the legal framework that affect the value chain and the stimulus to national production;

Considering the impact that the pandemic has had on international supply chains and the consequences that may result from the prolongation of the armed conflict on the European continent, in particular as regards access to certain types of food;

Considering the Government's determination to promote the growth of national agricultural production, not only to ensure the diversification of the economy, but also to guarantee greater food security and nutrition in our country;

Whereas, according to Article 5(4) of Decree-Law No 14/2018 of 17 August 2018, republished by Decree-Laws No 20/2020 of 28 May 2020 and No 27/2020 of 19 June 2020, it is incumbent upon the "Council of Ministers to decide on the creation of committees, permanent or contingent, for the examination of draft legislative or political acts or for the presentation of recommendations to the Council";

The Government resolves, pursuant to Article 5(4) of Decree-Law No 14/2018, of 17 August 2018, republished by Decree-Laws no. 20/2020, of 28 May, and 27/2020, of 19 June, as follows:

- 1. The Interministerial Commission for the Coordination of the Value Chain and Stimulation of Local Production, abbreviated to interministerial commission, is hereby created.
- 2. The inter-ministerial commission shall be responsible for submitting recommendations to the Council of Ministers for the improvement and coherence of public policies, administrative systems and procedures and the legal framework for coordinating the value chain and stimulating the growth of national production.
- 3. The inter-ministerial committee shall be composed of:
 - a) Prime Minister;
 - b) Coordinating Minister for Economic Affairs;
 - c) Minister for Tourism, Trade and Industry;
 - d) Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries;
 - e) Minister of Finance;
 - f) Minister of Public Works.
- 4. The inter-ministerial committee is chaired by the Prime Minister who, in his absence or impediment, is replaced by the Coordinating Minister for Economic Affairs.
- 5. The inter-ministerial committee shall meet ordinarily once a month and extraordinarily whenever convened by the Prime Minister, on his own initiative or at the request of any other member.
- 6. The meetings of the inter-ministerial committee are convened by the Prime Minister, in writing and with at least three days' notice, except in cases of urgency, duly substantiated, in which it is permitted to convene using the most expeditious means and without the need to observe that notice.
- 7. Other persons whose participation or contribution may be considered relevant to the matters to be discussed at the meetings of the interministerial committee may attend.
- 8. Minutes shall be drawn up of the meetings of the interministerial committee, summarising all the relevant events that took place during the meetings.
- 9. The Support Committee of the Interministerial Commission for the Coordination of the Value Chain and Stimulation of Local Production, abbreviated as the Committee, is hereby established.
- 10. The committee shall be responsible for:
 - a) Provide technical support to the inter-ministerial commission;
 - b) Coordinate the implementation of the recommendations of the inter-ministerial commission, once approved by the Council of Ministers;

- c) Present to the inter-ministerial committee the technical information necessary for the formulation of recommendations aimed at improving and ensuring the coherence of public policies, administrative systems and procedures and the legal framework, coordinating the value chain and stimulating the growth of national production;
- d) Promote the realisation of studies, projects or reports requested by the interministerial commission;
- e) Propose to the Interministerial Commission the establishment of a Value Chain Monitoring Unit, with purely coordinating functions;
- f) Carry out any other tasks determined by the interministerial committee.
- 11. The Committee are composed of:
 - a) Head of the Prime Minister's Office;
 - b) Director-General of Trade;
 - c) Director General of Industry;
 - d) Director-General of Tourism;
 - e) Director-General of Agriculture;
 - f) Director-General of Fisheries, Aquaculture and Marine Resources;
 - g) Commissioner of the Customs Authority;
 - h) Commissioner of the Tax Authority;
 - i) Director-General of Public Works;
 - j) General Coordinator of the Office of the Coordinating Minister for Economic Affairs;
 - k) Representative of micro-enterprises;
 - I) Representative of small enterprises;
 - m) Representative of medium-sized enterprises;
 - n) Representative of large companies;
 - o) Representative of banking institutions.
- 12. The members of the committee provided for in points k) to o) shall be appointed by the Prime Minister, after consultation with the organisations representing businesses and banking institutions.
- 13. The Head of the Prime Minister's Office shall act as coordinator of the Committee and shall be replaced, in his absence or impediment, by the Director-General designated for that purpose.
- 14. The Committee shall meet ordinarily once a fortnight and extraordinarily whenever convened by its coordinator, on his own initiative or at the request of a majority of its members.
- 15. Meetings of the Committee shall be convened in writing and at least two days in advance, except in cases of urgency, duly substantiated, in which case it may be

convened by the most expeditious means and without the need to observe such advance notice.

- 16. Other personalities whose participation or contribution may be considered relevant to the matters to be discussed at the meetings of the Committee may attend.
- 17. Minutes of the meetings of the Committee shall be drawn up summarising all the relevant matters which occurred during the meetings and shall be filed, after being signed by all those present, in the Office of the Prime Minister.
- 18. Technical and administrative support for the Committee shall be provided by the Office of the Prime Minister.
- 19. The bodies and departments of the public administration shall cooperate with the Committee by providing it with the information and documents requested by it for the preparation of the report.

This order shall take effect on the day following its publication in the Official Gazette.

Approved by the Council of Ministers on 6 May 2022.

Publish.

The Prime Minister,

Taur Matan Ruak